Add a little culture to your life…

April 16, 2007 at 12:00 pm (Nicole refers you)

So, it is my personal opinion that music is life. I simply could not survive without it. This being said, I am about to tell you one of the most amazing places to find new music, at least for me….Starbucks. I have on more than one occasion purchased their compilation CDs – one for the holidays and two that they released for Valentine’s Day. Yesterday, I added to my collection by purchasing “Off the Clock”- a compilation of up-and-coming artists who actually work at Starbucks. I have yet to be disappointed! The music is fresh, exciting and often times exposes me to genres I wouldn’t seek out otherwise. I am a big fan of taking music referrals…I don’t always seek out strange new music on my own, but if someone tells me to check something out, I am more than willing. My friend Brandon hooked me up with a few great songs last night, and my life shall never be the same! So, dear friends…send your referrals my way! And just to be fair, here are a few of my own:

 1) Massive Attack – My all-time favorite band, if you haven’t checked them out, do so.

2) Lamb, Portishead, and Tricky – More trip-hop vibes, perfect for most situations

 3) Boyce Avenue – www.myspace.com/boyceavenue <—these guys WILL be famous someday, and I will do my part to make sure of it!

4) A Perfect Circle – more specifically “Counting Bodies Like….” <–amazingly sexy for a political anthem

5) MIMS – I found “This Is Why I’m Hot” to be sadly addictive  and picked up the CD for $8 at Target. Well worth every penny…he’s actually a pretty talented rapper.

 Happy Listening!

1 Comment

  1. Chris Rohde said,

    Your musical taste is horrendous and I find it painful to ride in your vehicle.

    That being said, welcome back to the world of teh intarwebs. Post more frequently, and update your blogroll (my site has changed to http://veritastic.net )

Leave a Reply

